Steering Group

The Steering Group acts on behalf of the Directors to guide the development of the NC and its work. It produces an annual programme of activities, based on input from Directors and members of NC libraries, and approved by Directors. Members of the Steering Group are elected for a period of two years with an option for re-election.

The current steering group comprises:


 Jo Norry

Director of Libraries & Learning Innovation

Leeds Beckett Chair

Ruth Jenkins

University Librarian

Manchester Met


Pete Maggs

Director of Library Services

Lancaster Treasurer


Michelle Anderson

Director of Library Services

 Hull  Director Representative



Mary Dawson

Director of Library Services

Sheffield Hallam Director Representative

Alison Mackenzie


Dean of Learning Services

Edge Hill Director Representative


Oliver Pritchard

Deputy Director, Student Journey



Sunderland Director Representative


Sue White

Director of Computing & Library Services

Huddersfield Director Representative


Emma Spivey

Northern Collaboration Development Officer



Steering Group Calendar:

January    New Steering Group members commence office
February  Steering Group meeting  Approve Special Interest Group (SIG) work plans for the year
     Review on-going NC activities
     Discuss new/potential activities and projects
     Discuss theme for July Directors' meeting
     Conference report/decisions
     Financial report/review
March    SIG work plans commence - Steering Group partners to attend meetings
July  Steering Group meeting  Review of activities and projects
     Update on SIG workplans
     Discuss new/potential activities and projects
     Discuss theme for November Directors' meeting
     Conference report/decisions
     Financial report/review
     Planning for July Directors' meeting
October Steering Group meeting  Finalise activities and project plan for sign off by Directors
     Preparation for November Directors' meeting
     Update on SIG workplans
     Conference report/decisions
     Finanical review and budget setting
     Annual review of arrangements with SCONUL
     Steering Group elections
     Governance & Principle Review



Areas of Collaboration

Directors' Group

Relationship with SCONUL

NC Development Officer